Are you ready to watch all of the Captain America movies in order, but aren’t sure how to do it? Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered!

Here, we’ll show you the chronological order, release order, and the connections between the movies.

Plus, we’ll provide some tips for rewatching and a few fun extras.

Join us as we explore the Marvel Cinematic Universe and Captain America’s role in it!


Though it may seem daunting, it’s easy to watch all Captain America movies in order. There are currently five films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe featuring Captain America, with the first being released in 2011.

All five films serve as prequels to the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s main timeline, leading up to the events of Avengers: Endgame. The films are Captain America: The First Avenger, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Captain America: Civil War, Avengers: Infinity War, and Avengers: Endgame.

All five films can be watched in the order they were released. Additionally, streaming services such as Netflix and Disney+ offer all five films for streaming, making it easy and convenient to watch them in order.

Chronological Order

If you want to watch the Captain America movies in the order that the events happened, you’ll need to know the release dates.

It’s time to take a look at the chronology and figure out the best sequence to watch the films.

Release Dates

To watch the Captain America movies in chronological order, start with 2011’s Captain America: The First Avenger.

Here are the other movies in order of release date:

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

The order of these movies is important, as they contain crucial plot points that help to explain the story of Captain America over the years. Watching them out of order can make it difficult to understand the overarching story.

Therefore, it’s best to follow the chronological order of the films to get the most out of the franchise.


Once you’ve established the release dates, it’s time to watch the Captain America movies in chronological order.

The story begins with the 2011 film Captain America: The First Avenger. This movie follows Steve Rogers’s journey from a scrawny young man to a symbol of courage and patriotism.

After that comes the 2014 movie Captain America: The Winter Soldier. This movie sees Steve Rogers and Black Widow on a mission to uncover a secret organization that could threaten the world.

Next up is 2016’s Captain America: Civil War, where Steve Rogers and Iron Man find themselves on opposite sides of a disagreement about the Sokovia Accords.

Finally, the trilogy concludes with 2018’s Captain America: The Return of the First Avenger. This movie brings Steve Rogers and his old friends back together to face off against a powerful enemy.

With that, the story of Captain America is complete.

Release Order

The best way to start watching all of the Captain America movies is to follow their release order. Here’s a breakdown of how to do that:

  • Watch the 2011 movie, Captain America: The First Avenger.
  • Watch the 2014 movie, Captain America: The Winter Soldier.
  • Watch the 2016 movie, Captain America: Civil War.
  • Watch the 2018 movie, Avengers: Infinity War, followed by the 2019 movie, Avengers: Endgame.

These movies tell the story of Steve Rogers, a brave soldier who’s enhanced with Super Soldier serum and goes on to become a superhero. Watching the movies in the order of their release will allow viewers to appreciate the evolution of the character, his relationships, and the overall story.


Trace the connections between Captain America’s story and other Marvel characters to get a better understanding of his journey.

See how his story intersects with other heroes and villains to gain a more complete understanding of this beloved superhero’s journey.

Focusing on these connections will help you appreciate the full scope of the Captain America saga.

Timeline: Trace the Events of Captain America’s Journey From Start to Finish

Follow Captain America’s journey from his World War II origin story in the 1940s to the present day with this guide to watching all his movies in order.

Trace the events of the star-spangled hero’s incredible journey with these four steps:

  • Start with ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’ (2011) to follow the origin story of Steve Rogers’ transformation into Captain America.

  • Then watch ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ (2014) to explore the complexities of Steve’s mission in modern day.

  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’ (2016) takes the action to a whole new level as Steve’s faith is tested and the Avengers are torn apart.

  • Finally, catch up with Steve in ‘Avengers: Endgame’ (2019) to witness his ultimate battle.

Intersections: Identify When Captain America’s Story Intersects With Other Marvel Characters

As you watch Captain America’s story unfold, you’ll notice how his story intersects with other Marvel characters, creating connections between them. One of the earliest is Nick Fury, who’s the director of S.H.I.E.L.D., the secret organization behind many of the events that drive the Marvel universe. Fury is a main character in Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and his involvement continues in Captain America: Civil War.

In addition, Tony Stark (Iron Man) appears in The First Avenger, The Avengers, and Civil War. Thor is another important figure, appearing in The Avengers and Age of Ultron.

Rewatch Tips

To get the most out of your Captain America rewatch, consider watching the movies in chronological order. This way, you can follow the story arc more easily and pick up on details you may have missed the first time.

Here are some tips to make your rewatch experience more enjoyable:

  • Take notes of your favorite scenes and quotes
  • Pause to discuss interesting plot points with friends or family
  • Pay attention to how the events in Captain America’s story intersect with other Marvel characters
  • Look up behind-the-scenes trivia to gain additional insight into the films


Go the extra mile by exploring the additional content related to Captain America movies. From TV spin-offs to comic books, there are plenty of ways to extend the Captain America cinematic experience. Here’s a breakdown of some of the options:

TV Series Movies Comic Books
Agent Carter The First Avenger The Death of Captain America
The Falcon and the Winter Soldier The Winter Soldier Winter Soldier
Avengers Assemble Civil War Falcon
Ultimate Spider-Man Infinity War Captain America: Reborn

Take your viewing up a notch and dive into these comprehensive resources for an enriched experience. Marvel fans won’t be disappointed.


There you have it! Watching the Captain America movies in order doesn’t have to be difficult.

Whether you want to watch them in chronological order, release order, or just focus on the connections between them, you’re now equipped with the knowledge to enjoy a great Marvel movie marathon.

So grab some popcorn and enjoy!